jogathon

One foot in front of the other

Taking a fall

6 Comments

I promised that i would come and tell you about how I got on with the running club.

So yesterday evening I set out in the dark to run the mile to the meeting place for the running club. I even had my daughter’s old smart phone with the much desired MapMyRun app installed!

1 K into the run I tripped over a raised manhole cover and took a pretty bad fall. My right knee caught the brunt of it and I then bounced onto my left side which scraped across the pavement.

There was nobody in sight, so I picked myself up and walked back home. I arrived shaking with cold (and possibly a bit of the shock of it all).

This morning my right knee is quite swollen, bruised and stiff – but it seems to be moving in all the right directions, so hopefully no serious damage done. I will ask my physio colleague at work to have a look at it.
My left side (face, boob and wrist) are a bit scraped, but nothing too serious.

Bummer – however, thanks to the MapMyRun app I can report that I was running a 5:43 min/km pace when I took my tumble. So all in all not a bad time. 🙂

I guess I will have to take it easy for a few days …

6 thoughts on “Taking a fall

  1. Oh poor you, hope it all heels soon

  2. You poor thing. Been there. Luckily, no one saw me either! Ooohh, the shame of it if they had! Wishing you speedy recovery.

  3. hoping for a speedy recovery for you.

  4. Ouch! Hope you heal up soon and make it running club another week!

  5. Really hope no long term damage is done. Xx

  6. Pingback: Let’s hear it for the gym! Janathon Day 22 | jogathon

Leave a Reply

