jogathon

One foot in front of the other

Let’s hear it for the gym! Janathon Day 22

7 Comments

To be honest, I much rather be outdoors than in the gym, but I am sure that regular gym attendances have improved my fitness.

Last year, not long after Janathon had ended, I took a bad fall on the pavement, which caused my right knee to be anything from ‘feeling not quite right’ to downright painful and creaky for months.bruised knee 2

It got better, but not perfect, and I was careful with exercising.

Then, in September, I joined the People’s March for the NHS for the last 70 miles or so on their 300 mile march from Jarrow to London. It was a brilliant experience and great for my political muscle … but it aggravated my knee again.

So I gave up running for a bit – and eventually dared to buy some new running shoes and tentatively try the treadmill in the gym.

I also started using the weight and resistance machines, which I had always found (still do, I guess) tedious and boring.
I am sure they have played a big part in strengthening the muscles around my knee, because even with the increased running I am doing during this Janathon, I have not had any knee trouble. Happy!

Today I ran on the treadmill for 30 mins, doing speed work – roughly something like 120-150 secs at 11.5km/hr followed by 60-90 secs at 9.8km/hr. Overall pace was 5:36 mins/km, which is probably something of a PB.

wpid-wp-1421942721695.jpeg

Walk: 3K
Run: 5K
Weights: 30 mins

7 thoughts on “Let’s hear it for the gym! Janathon Day 22

  1. Great work on the treadmill

  2. Good news about your knee. It’s a pity that strength work is so good for us when it is so hideous!

  3. Great stuff, well done 🙂

  4. That’s really good progress! 🙂

  5. well done on the dreadmill 🙂

  6. Intervals are the only way i can tolerate treadmills!

Leave a Reply

