jogathon

One foot in front of the other

Running club – keeping up with the big boys

1 Comment

Tonight I joined the local running club again. 3.5 miles and I wanted to push myself.
The leader of the top group declared he was going to pace us for 10-minute miles. Liar!
We set off at what felt like a fair pace and after a mile he declared that “we are doing just under 9 mins/mile”. Turns out that was a lie too!

I kept up with them for approx 2.5 miles at a pace of 8.25mins/mile (in Continental money that’s 4K at 5:15mins/km), before fallen back to a slower pace for the last 3/4 mile or so.

Fantastic workout though. I wouldn’t have been able to push myself that far on my own. I’ll be back next week.
image

One thought on “Running club – keeping up with the big boys

  1. I love running clubs. I usually only go for lap and speed work due to other commitments but love pushing myself.

Leave a Reply

