jogathon

One foot in front of the other

Day 13 – Evening run

5 Comments

My life seems to consist of trying to catch the sunrise on the way into work and the sunset on the way home.

image

Today I missed my lunch break but went home half an hour early, in time for a run in the remaining daylight.

It seemed really hard work, perhaps because it is now colder.

image

That reminds me of how I got into running in the first place.
15 years ago or so I had a colleague who was at least 10 years younger than me. One day she came into work telling me how she had attended a gym for the first time the previous evening and had not been able to run for 2 minutes without getting out of breath.
I remember thinking (not saying!) “Goodness, love, how can anybody not run for 2 minutes?”
That evening I got home, found an old pair of trainers and tracksuit bottoms (I know I’m showing my age) and went for a “run”…
It was November and very cold. After about 60 seconds my lungs were on fire, after 90 they felt as if they were going to explode!

I remember being quite shocked. It lead to me doing a Couch to 5K and I’ve been a runner to varying degrees ever since. Yay!

Run 7K
Walk 1.5K

5 thoughts on “Day 13 – Evening run

  1. Did you ever tell her how you felt that first time? It seems you have a lot to thank her for!

  2. great story! well done you

  3. I had a similar experience about 9 years ago. I thought I was fit but I wasn’t. I tried the run for 1 minute, walk for 1 minute – 10 times. By rep 5 I was a gonner.

Leave a Reply

