jogathon

One foot in front of the other

Day 23 – Are we nearly there yet?

Leave a comment

In answer to the title question, I came across this graffiti today. I think depending how you look at it, it could read “Nope” or “Hope”. You decide…

img_20160123_095721826.jpg

Is it just me who feels Janathon is dragging on a bit?  The initial excitement is over and the end is not quite in sight.

On a positive note, I did some number crunching and found out that (at least here in the Southern part of England) we have gained over 50 minutes of daylight since the winter solstice a month ago. See for yourself.
You can choose different times and locations.
50 more minutes for exercising! Yip!!

Giving my lethargy I used a little psychology on myself. I decided to run 4 kilometres straight, then double back for a 5th kilometre and then walk the remaining 3 – thereby breaking it into roughly 30 mins of running and walking.

It worked. Somehow knowing that I could “treat myself” to a walk and not have to run the whole way, boosted my morale and my energy levels. I ran quite energetically, doing intermittent “run-as-fast-as-you-can-for-three-lampposts” fartleks. I ran 5K in under 27:45 minutes, averaging 5:30 mins/km.

img_20160123_100122446_hdr.jpg

I also found another Yoga for Runners video. Again, this seems to assume a certain knowledge of Yoga, but it had a number of great hip and hamstring stretches.

Run 5K
Walk 4K
Yoga 30 mins

Leave a Reply

